2024 NPDA Awards

The Executive council would like to thank the tournament host, University of Utah, the President Dr. Taylor Randall, the Dean Dr. Hollis Robbins, the Associate Dean Dr. Michael Middleton and the Chair of the School of Communication Dr. Avery Holton. Huge thank you to the University of Utah Speech and Debate Team and the Director of Forensics and Tournament Host Dr. Jeannie Hunt. Thank you to the tournament staff, Tournament Director Baker Wielert-Pekar of Whitman College, and the tab staff of Konrad Hack of Concordia University at Irvine and Ombuds Brittany Hubble of El Camino College. Finally, thank you to the judges, coaches and competitors.

National Student Representative Results

Leilani Hurtado from University of Texas at Tyler

All American Awards

Whitman College- Kasey Moulton
University of Utah- Meredith Jenkins
University of the Pacific- Angelica Guzman
Mercer University- Chirayu Salgarkar
Rice University- Max Renteria
Concordia University Irvine – Benjamin Wagner

Brent Northup Distinguished Service Award

Shannon LaBove - Rice University

Season Sweepstakes

Season Sweepstakes: 2 year

1st: 112.75 points -- Diablo Valley College 2nd: 98 points -- El Camino College

Season Sweepstake: Novice

1st: 73 points – El Camino College

2nd: 44.75 points - Point Loma Nazarene University

3rd: 23.75 points - Diablo Valley College

4th: 21.75 points - The University of Utah

5th: 18.25 points - Saint Mary's College of California

Season Sweepstakes: Junior Varsity

1st: 48.5 points - El Camino College

2nd: 43.75 points – Point Loma Nazarene University

3rd: 26.5 points – The University of Utah 4th: 23.25 points – Diablo Valley College

5th: 23 points - Saint Mary's College of California

Season Sweepstake: Open

1st: 84 points: Rice University

2nd: 81.25 points: Point Loma Nazarene University

3rd: 71.75 points: University of Utah

4th: 65.75 points: Parliamentary Debate at Berkeley

5th: 64 points: Diablo Valley College

Season Sweepstakes: Overall

1st: 112.75 points -- Diablo Valley College

2nd: 101.25 points -- Point Loma Nazarene

3rd: 98 points -- El Camino College

4th: 90.25 points -- University of Utah

5th: 90 points -- Rice University

6th: 85.75 points -- Whitman College

7th: 73.5 points -- Concordia Univ Irvine

8th: 65.75 points -- Parliamentary Debate at Berkeley

9th: 55.75 points -- University of the Pacific

10th: 54 points -- Univ of Texas Tyler

11th: 48 points -- St. Mary's College of California

12th: 25 points -- William Jewell

13th: 21.25 points -- San Diego State University

14th: 20 points -- Mercer University

Speaker Awards

Top Novice Speakers

Novice National Champion: Mercer University -- Red Mason

2nd: Mercer University -- Nolan Andrew Ralls 3rd: University of the Pacific -- Ileana Guzman 4th: University of the Pacific -- Simran Ghusar

5th: Whitman College -- Heather Romero

Top Speakers

National Champion Top Speaker: Whitman College -- Jas Liu

2nd: Whitman College -- Alexa Grechishkin

3rd: Whitman College -- Isabel Mathy

4th: Parliamentary Debate at Berkeley -- Brenna Seiersen

5th: Whitman College -- Kasey Moulton

6th: Rice University -- Maximus Renteria

7th: University of Utah -- Samantha Watrin

8th: Rice University -- Arjun Surya

9th: Parliamentary Debate at Berkeley - Tristan Keene

10th: Mercer University -- Jayla Owens

11th: Mercer University -- Niyati Patel

12th: University of Texas at Tyler -- Leilani Hurtado

13th: University of Utah -- Meredith Jenkins

14th: McKendree University -- Emma McIlhargie

15th: University of Texas at Tyler -- Zachary Stansbery

16th: University of the Pacific -- Angelica Stephanie Guzman

17th: Mercer University -- Breanna Acevedo

18th: Mercer University -- Chirayu Salgarkar

19th: William Jewell College -- Kandace Gill

20th: Rice University -- William Wang

Elimination Round Results

The Novice Semi-Finalists

Mercer University: Breanna Acevedo & Red Mason The University of Utah: Sage Allred & Brinley Kemp

The Novice Championship Debate

In the Novice Championship Debate, Pacific GG affirmed the motion, while St' Mary's MP opposed the motion. It was a 4-1 decision.

The 2024 Novice Champions: Luis Mora & Jasper Pacheco from St. Mary's College.

2nd Place: Simran Ghusar and Ileana Guzman from the University of the Pacific.

The Open Division Octofinalists

Concordia University Irvine-- Benjamin Wagner & Hudson Winchel

McKendree University-- Aaron Brown & Emma McIlhargie

Mercer University-- Chirayu Salgarkar & Thomas Bartlett

Rice University-- Nikki Stancik & Rija Naqvi

Rice University-- Anna Phan & Rohan Gupta

University of Utah-- Meredith Jenkins & Samantha Watrin

University of the Pacific-- Angelica Stephanie Guzman & Daneli Santillan

The Open Division Quarterfinalists

Kansas City Kansas Community College-- Chris Lapee & Nathan Newby

Mercer University-- Niyati Patel & Jayla Owens Rice University-- Kyle Sandefer & William Wang University of Texas at Tyler-- Leilani Hurtado & Zachary Stansbery

The Open Division Semifinalists

Whitman College-- Jas Liu & Kasey Moulton
Whitman College-- Alexa Grechishkin & Isabel Mathy

Tournament Sweepstakes

Tournament Sweepstakes: 2-Year

2024 National Champions: 14 points – Kansas City Kansas Community College 2nd Place: 10 points – The College of Southern Idaho

Tournament Sweepstakes: Overall

2024 National Champions: 54 points - Rice University

2nd: 40 points - Whitman College

3rd: 34 points - Mercer University

4th: 34 points - Parliamentary Debate at Berkeley

5th: 32 points - Concordia University Irvine

6th: 30 points - University of Texas at Tyler

7th: 30 points - University of Utah

8th: 24 points - Saint Mary's College

9th: 22 points - University of the Pacific

10th: 16 points - William Jewell College

11th: 14 points - Kansas City Kansas Community College

12th: 10 points - McKendree University

13th: 10 points - San Diego State University

14th: 10 points - College of Southern Idaho

The Championship Debate

In the Championship Debate, Maximus Renteria and Arjun Surya from Rice University affirmed the motion, while Tristan Keene and Brenna Seiersen from Parliamentary Debate at Berkeley opposed the motion. It was a 4-3 decision.

The 2024 Champions of the National Parliamentary Debate Association are Tristan Keene and Brenna Seiersen from Parliamentary Debate at Berkeley.

2nd Place: from Rice University are Maximus Renteria and Arjun Surya